Skip to content

Why Gutsy Women Travel

October 1, 2014

Gutsy women... abseil down Table Mountain (Cape Town, South Africa)

The first time I traveled alone, I spent part of my time on a backpacker bus in New Zealand. As far as solo travel, that’s about as easy as it gets — a) it’s New Zealand, and b) you’re “alone” on a bus full of other travelers, that takes you from point A to point B to point C, so you really don’t have to worry about much.

And yet, time and again I met other women who were shocked that I was traveling alone.

“I could never do that,” they would say. “You’re so brave.”

At the same time, those women were gutsier than they even realized, because there are plenty of women back home who would say the same thing about traveling abroad at all, whether with another woman, or even a man or group. In short, it takes a gutsy woman to travel abroad, alone or otherwise, and we think more courageous women out there should take the leap! Travel. Take a gap year. Volunteer. Teach. Get out there.

Read the rest of my article on Go Overseas!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 9, 2014 12:34 pm

    Hello really appreciate your solo travels. Once a women who was a bike traveler visited my country that is Pakistan, and she was all alone. Hates off to her! and Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment