Skip to content

An Open Letter of Thanks to My Parents

November 21, 2012

It’s been a long time since I’ve spent Thanksgiving with my family. The past handful have been spent in various, slightly nontraditional ways — with international students at university in South Carolina, with an Ecuadorean host family in Quito, eating Swedish-prepared kebab-pizza with Australians and Koreans in Perth, and now in Florida, where it appears I might be eating home-cooked Indian cuisine for my Thanksgiving meal. (No complaints here!)

I don’t share this to brag, but to illustrate just how lucky I am to have the parents that I do. While it’s always nice to be home with family enjoying a home-cooked meal, I am thankful for all those other holiday experiences I was able to have. And none of those Thanksgivings would have been possible without my parents’ support, love and understanding.

Not all parents would be supportive (emotionally and financially) of their child going to school 600 miles away. Or traveling alone through South America. Or moving to Australia for a year. Or temporarily taking over their house in Florida. (Super thanks!)

In travel and in life, my parents have always been my biggest supporters.

When I went on my first international trip, a life-changing journey at age 12, my parents encouraged and supported me.

Even when some of my decisions might have been a bit scary for them — like taking off to travel solo in South America for three months — my parents were still there to drive me to the airport and support me along the way. I may not have kids of my own, but even I know it’s not easy to watch your kids grow up. Especially when it’s off in far-flung destinations where you can’t protect them or care for them when bad things happen.

Yet somehow, my parents always find ways to do so. When I’ve been robbed, they’ve been there to help me out and cancel credit cards. When I’ve been homesick, they’ve been there to call, lend a sympathetic ear, and even offer a ticket home.

My dad has met me on my travels in all corners of the globe — driving around Ireland, trekking to Machu Picchu, eating our way around Italy, shivering in Sweden and adventuring in Australia. We hope to have many more adventures together, especially another hiking trip, and I hope one day to be able to even minutely return the favor of all he has done for me by taking him on a trip for once.

My mom has to pop a few Xanax just to set foot on a plane, so she won’t be meeting me on my travels anytime soon. But she has always been the ultimate supporter from afar. I can always count on her to keep track of me, and I know she’s proud of the things I have done in my short 25 years.

When I was young, I remember my mom telling me I should be a “professional tourist” when I grow up. Still she encourages me to follow my travel dreams. As the worrier of the family, I know she must go through a lot when I’m abroad, so I appreciate her encouragement and all she puts up with.

So, this Thanksgiving, I just want to say: Thanks, Mom and Dad, for being awesome.

I am the luckiest girl in the world for having such supportive, caring parents. You have done an incredible job raising three children who are on their way to fulfilling, successful lives because of your endless support. I only hope we can all return the favor someday.

Love,

Rachael

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 3:02 pm

    I love this post. I’m currently spending my third Thanksgiving abroad, and this was exactly what I needed to hear this week. Enjoy your turkey day!

    • November 22, 2012 10:19 am

      Glad to hear it, Jessica! Enjoy your Thanksgiving in lovely Spain 🙂

  2. Dad permalink
    November 21, 2012 5:30 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! Miss you! Can’t wait for our next adventure … Iceland?
    Love dad

  3. Kathy permalink
    November 21, 2012 6:01 pm

    Love it!! Thank you for this. Love you sweetie.

    Love mom

  4. December 9, 2012 1:30 pm

    This is so sweet! I’m also really thankful for my parents’ support of all my traveling. They both studied abroad at a young age (mom in Germany, dad in Brazil) and they just got back from an African safari, and they seem to see my choice to live far from home as a reason to optimize their frequent flier mile credit cards! My 89-year-old grandma is an incredible supporter too, responding by email to most of my blog posts, and sending the occasional check to fund more adventures than I could afford on my local salary…

    🙂

  5. July 16, 2013 10:12 am

    Great post. My parents have always supported my travels. I recently took a trip with my parents (instead of away from them) and it was an awesome experience as I got to know them better as people.

  6. November 12, 2013 2:36 am

    This was such a great post! My Dad has Parkinson’s and boy do I wish he could still travel with me like your Dad is able to do with you. Enjoy each moment.

  7. November 27, 2013 5:14 am

    Great post. Not something that people say very often, including myself, but should be something we say all the time. I have had similar trips abroad when it didn’t seem that wise and my parents have never held me back.

  8. November 29, 2013 9:43 pm

    Love this!! and it’s so true – that freedom to explore is wonderful.

  9. March 12, 2014 1:27 am

    Your way of explaining the whole thing in this piece of writing is in fact fastidious,
    every one be able to without difficulty know it, Thanks a lot.

  10. April 11, 2014 1:39 pm

    Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this piece of writing i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant article.

  11. May 9, 2014 11:16 pm

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks
    you actually know what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked.

    Kindly additionally consult with my site =). We will have a
    hyperlink alternate agreement among us

  12. May 11, 2014 10:34 am

    I’m no longer positive where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend a while studyingg more or figuring out more.

    Thanks for great info I used to be loiking for this information
    for my mission.

  13. June 10, 2014 9:51 am

    This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what
    you had to say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

Trackbacks

  1. How I Became a Traveler: From Shy Kid to Fearless Adventurer « Girl, Unmapped
  2. Saying goodbye to 2012 « Girl, Unmapped

Leave a comment